Amazing Dinner of Pork Chops with Apple Relish

I know I said I would post workouts this week, but I over did it on Monday, and with my Fibromyalgia that caused me to pretty much be down and out the past few days. So instead of workouts I am giving you an amazing dinner that is pretty simple to make.

DSCN4244

Since I am trying to eat healthier I have been open to new ideas with food. Monday afternoon as I was trying to figure out what to cook for dinner I kept thinking pork chops (now I know what you are going to say, “you said healthier and pork chops aren’t that healthy”).  I also knew I wanted apples with them. I came up with the idea to make an apple relish out of Granny Smith Apples, Golden Delicious Apples, lime zest, lime & lemon juice, and cilantro. This really kicked up the pork chops.

DSCN4242Doesn’t this look yummy!

For the chops themselves I knew I wanted garlic (my family loves anything garlic), so I went with a lemon garlic marinade on them. They were amazing.

DSCN4245

I always cook my chops under the broiler for about 15 minutes on each side. It is a lot easier for me that way I can work on the sides while the chops cook and not have to worry about them burning or not being cooked all the way.

As for the rest of the meal I decided on brown rice with quinoa and a salad of mixed greens…..My only fear was since I came up with this meal in my head was that my family wouldn’t eat it. I served the first plate to minion #3 since he is the pickiest eater, and he loved it! He even asked for 2nds. I believe that this is going to be a new one to add to the meal plan!

What are some of the meals you came up with? Please share in the comments

Leave a Reply

