Baking Cookies

One of my most vivid memories from my childhood is the one that involves my dad and me making peanut butter cookies. I about 7 or 8, so not old enough to put the cookies in the oven by myself, but old enough to follow the recipe. Well this time I mixed up the baking soda and flour in the recipe. I even had my dad double check it for me. We both noticed the batter tasted funny but put them in the oven anyway. After we got them out of the oven we realized what we had done wrong. The were so bad that even our dog wouldn’t eat them. This is a story that has been retold numerous times around the table when we talked about growing up. I did get the joy of passing my love for baking onto my kids. We try each weekend to bake something yummy. Luckily, they can read the recipe better than my dad and me…lol. Tomorrow I will be posting the yummy pumpkin chocolate chip cookies that minion #3 and I baked last weekend, complete with recipe (and yes we made sure not to over do it on the baking soda). Does anyone have a memory like this with their parents? Feel free to share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

