Something a little different

Every November most people partake in the daily post about what they are thankful for. To me I am thankful for so much every single day of the year that I don’t see why doing it in November is worth it. I decided this Holiday Season I am going to do something a little different. I am going to do a daily post about a memory from my childhood or a holiday tradition that I enjoy. I want this blog to be a variety of life and reviews but I always want it to be 100% helpful! Now on to today’s actual post.

Since it has been 5 months to the day since I lost one of the most important men in my life, my dad, I will start this with a memory of him. A lot of my memories will include something with my dad because I was a big daddy’s girl growing up.

When I was little (like toddler age) my dad was a stay-at-home dad. Every week day we would go to a local convenience store and he would get me a Hershey bar and a Hi-C and then we would go visit his brother, my uncle. While we were there we would watch The Price is Right. Still to this day it is one of my favorite memories and I still love my Hershey bars. Also while we were visiting my uncle, on the days the trash ran, my dad and uncle would convince me that their other brother was the garbage truck driver. I believed them for years. It is even something I started with my kids. Not sure if the ever believed me or not, but it was a nice little tradition to carry on. I sure do miss my dad and I hope that when my kids are grown they have a memory like this about either myself or their dad. To me that is what makes life worth living. Family is everything, and without them I would be lost.

One thought on “Something a little different

  1. AshleyTriesIt says:

    It’s amazing how the simple memories stick around forever! It goes to show that it’s not things, but people that make a life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

