Harvest in the Hills

It is my favorite time of year, when the days are shorter, the nights cooler, and Mother Nature shows her true beauty. Yep, it is Fall. I am not the type of person that goes all crazy for pumpkin flavored everything that seems to signal the seasons changing, but instead I love fall because it means hoodies, blankets, fires, and the wonderful colors that only show in nature at this time of year.  Growing up in West Virginia, I have been blessed to see the beauty of all four seasons, and every time I would pick fall hands down. It might be because some of my favorite memories growing up included a day trip on a weekend over to Seneca Rocks and Blackwater Falls to look at the leaves with my parents. It might also be the smells that come with fall, the smell of smoke from the fire, the smell of the forest when you are on a hike, and yes, even the smell of pumpkin spice.

Blackwaterfalls, WV

Blackwater Falls, WV

With today being Saturday, that means family day in my house. With both my husband and I working all week, and my college classes online in the evenings, we use Saturday as the day to spend as much time with the kids as possible. That meant going to the Harvest in the Hills Festival today. It was a nice little craft show at the middle school. With the rain today it was the only thing I could think of that the 3 minions, Mr. Wonderful, and myself would all enjoy. While there I got some great ideas for Christmas gifts for the oldest minion. I also stopped by the Circle H Farm’s table to pick up some of their homemade, goat milk soap, and I am glad I did.

Yes, that is soap. It looks and smells delicious.

Yes, that is soap. It looks and smells delicious.

I had never tried homemade soap, let alone goat milk soap before, but the older I get the more willing I am to try new things. I picked “The Grinch” and O.M.G. I am so glad I did. It is this heavenly mint, chocolate smell. Both smells are equally balanced so one does not overpower the other. I could not wait to try it out either. This soap is perfect all around. I took a nice hot relaxing bath to warm up this evening after being out in the cold rain most of the day, and of course took the soap with me. The lather is luxurious. It does not dry out your skin like most soaps or body washes you buy in the store. I even shaved my legs with it! (Thanks to my 12 yr old minion for not telling me we needed shaving cream.) We all know how shaving with soap is usually disastrous, but not this soap. I didn’t even have to use lotion after getting out of the bath and my skin still feels so soft. I want this soap to last because it is great, but at the same time I can’t wait to use it all up so I can try another one of Circle H Farm’s Goat Milk Soap.

One thought on “Harvest in the Hills

Leave a Reply

